Archive | July, 2013

48121 North Territorial Rd

20 Jul

Image

Built Circa 1850 by Samuel Dunn. This farm was purchased by Clinton Gottschalk in 1934 who not only farmed this land but was also a contractor that was responsible for building several homes in Plymouth. This was the last fully operational agricultural and turkey farm in Plymouth. Although the farmland was sold in the mid 1980’s to make room for development, this home is still in the same family and still has one of the only barns left in Plymouth.

SharlandBarn3637

Historic photo of Gottschalk farm circa 1936. This barn still sits on the property

235 Adams Street

19 Jul

Image

235 Adams Street. Built in 1881 and was originally located on Main Street. This was the home of William (W.O.) Allen who was a business owner and had a store on Penniman Ave. Mr. Allen was married to Kate Penniman (Daughter of Ebenezer). In 1925 this home was sold to the Essick Family and then in 1949 the property was sold to the Public School system to allow for expansion of Plymouth High School (aka Central Middle School, now PARC). This home used to sit where the Gymnasium is now located. The home was rescued by Robert Joliffe and was moved to this location in 1950.

842-848 Sheldon Road

19 Jul

Image

842-848 Sheldon Road. Built circa 1849 by Ebenezer Penniman and was the Carriage house for his home located near the intersection of Penniman Ave and Church Street. The property was purchased by Our Lady of Good Counsel Church in 1943 and this carriage house was moved in 1946 to become a Multi-Unit home.

1142 N. Holbrook Street

16 Jul

Image

1142 Holbrook St (at Wilcox Rd) Built circa 1835. Originally the home of Henry Holbrook. Holbrook was one of Plymouth’s earliest settlers that played a significant role in Plymouth history and owned the Plymouth Mill right behind this property. Henry was born in Massachusetts in 1808 and was married to Sarah who was born in New York in 1813. The Wilcox family purchased this home in 1870 with the Mill from Holbrook. The Wilcox’s ran the mill and a store to sell thier products. George Wilcox later purchased the Iconic Victorian home that sits across from Kellogg Park. A stone bearing the Wilcox name is still on the front lawn. Locally, many also know this home as the Guenther House. Harold Guenther served as Mayor of Plymouth.

Below is a historic photo of this home:

histwilcox

Welcome to Plymouth MI Discoveries!

4 Jul
plymouthproudfaces

Jim, Andrea, Ava, Alicia, & Aaron

This page is dedicated to telling the history and cool facts about historical structures and homes in Plymouth, Michigan. Welcome to our Plymouth Discoveries page. My family and I moved to Plymouth because of the richness of history, the great schools, and the great people. After a visit to the Plymouth Historical Museum, we became very interested in the homes and structures around town and the history behind them. In the spring of 2012 we started a facebook page documenting our discoveries. In partnership with the Plymouth Historical Museum, we have now evolved to the creation of this page. Our goal is to raise awareness of the rich history of Plymouth and to showcase to the world the great community we live in. Our posts only scratch the surface of the extensive stories behind each structure and we can only hope it will encourage the community to learn more and appreciate Plymouth history. We also also hope that our page helps encourage the preservation of structures that hold much of the great history of Plymouth. We hope that this will also encourage the public to pay a visit to our wonderful community and to stop by the Plymouth Historical Museum located at 155 S. Main Street, Plymouth, MI 48170 Phone Number: (734) 455-8940.

To contact the author of this page, simply enter your info below:

Author of Plymouth Discoveries

169 Adams Street – Historic Conner Hardware

4 Jul

169Adams

ConnerOnMain169 Adams Street. (modern photo shown) This home appears to be simply another older home that sits in a well-established neighborhood. Well, it’s a home with a “past” unlike most houses. Back in the 1850’s Plymouth did not have an actual hardware store. Michael Conner was the first proprietor of such an establishment. Conner hardware was located on Main Street near the corner of Sutton Street (now Penniman Ave). Conner’s became a popular place for folks to gather, sit on the porch and discuss the latest news and gossip. Mr. Conner loved to discuss political matters with the townspeople and had even served as the Village President. In 1884 Michael Conner built a new store. In 1896 Michael had passed away and his son William Conner (who had served as the store manager) was now running the establishment. In 1898 William built the now iconic Conner building that sits at the North West corner of Main & Penniman (where Kilwin’s resides today). As for the old wooden structured store, the assumption was that it was razed and had become history. After doing some research at the Plymouth Historical Museum, I stumbled across some documentation showing that the hardware store was actually moved to 169 Adams Street and originally became the home of Mr & Mrs Farwell. Since the move, this structure has seen some significant changes but upon further inspection, its past becomes very apparent. So we are pleased to re-discover this great piece of Plymouth history!

318-336 S. Main Street

1 Jul

318-336 S. Main Street was built in late 1893 after the “great fire” of 1893 eliminated most of the block. This is the Penniman Building, one of the most recognized structures in town which was built by Kate Penniman-Allen who was a very prominent figure in Plymouth. She was the Daughter of Ebenezer Penniman who was Plymouth’s first Congressman. Some of the most notable businesses in this building are Wiltse’s community pharmacy which has provided some of the best hometown service to this community for most of the 20th Century, 336 Main is a popular Martini Bar ( www.336Main.com ) and there are some great confections cooking at the Cupcake Station.

Image

HistPennimanColeman